2014 Startup Canada Awards Results

12 June 2014
No Comments

Please find below the results of the 2014 Startup Canada Awards.


Investor of the Year

Winner: Randy Thompson


Wolfblass Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner: Gerry Pond

Runner-Up: Gary Will

Honourable Mention: Allan Scott


Young Entrepreneur of the Year

Winner: Linda Manziaris

Runner Up: Boris Martin

Honourable Mention: William Zhou


Media Person of the Year

Winner: Rick Spence (Ontario)

Runner-Up: Rob Lewis (BC)

Honourable Mention: Peter Moreira


Educator of the Year

Winner: Dr. Mary Kilfoil

Runner-Ups: Ajay Agrawal & Howard Armitage

Honourable Mentions: Michael Avedesian and Brent Mainprize


Mentor of the Year

Winner: Sean Wise

Runner-Up: LP Maurice

Honourable Mentions: Randy Yatscoff, Cathy Kuzel & Robert Zed


Ecosystem Builder of the Year

Winner: Chris Johnson

Runner-Ups: Dan Gunn & Phil Telio

Honourable Mention: Joel Adams & Bob Pelley


Non-Profit Organization of the Year

Winner: MaRS Discovery District

Runner-Up: Launch Academy

Honourable Mentions: La Fondation Montreal, Northern Alberta Business Incubator and Ladies Learning Code


Entrepreneurial Effect Awards

Winner: International Startup Festival

Runner-Up: Fundica

Honourable Mentions: Entrepreneur 101 at the MaRS Discovery District, Clarity.fm and HumberLaunch


Startup Community of the Year

Winner: Startup Calgary

Runner-Ups: Startup Fredericton  & Startup Winnipeg

Honourable Mentions: Startup Prince George, Startup Waterloo Region & Quebec Startup


Post-Secondary Institution of the Year

Winner: University of New Brunswick

Runner-Up: Ryerson University (Ontario)

Honourable Mention: University of Waterloo


Government Organization of the Year

Winner: Build in Canada Innovation Program

Runner-Up: BC Innovation Council

Honourable Mention: Women’s Enterprise Initiative


Anchor Company of the Year

Winner: Microsoft

Runner-Up: Shopify

Honourable Mention: Hootsuite


Incubator of the Year

Winner: TEC Edmonton

Runner-Up: Alberta Women Entrepreneurs


Accelerator of the Year

Winner: Wavefront

Runner-Up: FounderFuel


Professional Services Organization of the Year

Winner: EY Canada

Runner-Up: McInnes Cooper

Honourable Mention: Boast Capital